North Hampton Conservation Commission Meeting Minutes Special Meeting June 17, 2015 **As approved**

Administrative

The Meeting was called to order at 5:36 PM. The Agenda was posted in four locations pursuant to RSA and Town Policy requirements.

Roll Call

Attendance included Chris Ganotis (Chair), Lisa Wilson (Vice Chair), Andrew Vorkink (by Phone pursuant to RSA) Philip Thayer, Kathy Grant and Russell Jeppesen. Also in attendance were Rich Skowronski and Leila Hanna. Having a quorum the meeting was opened for business.

New Business

The Chair opened the meeting indicating that the only meeting Agenda item was to consider the acquisition of a Conservation Easement for a Conservation Sub-Division located at 142 Mill Road, Tax Map 12, Lots 47,48-2,63,64,65, 67-71,73,74,76,77 and 78, encompassing a total acreage of 69.95 acres of which approximately 41.85 would be proposed as Conservation land.

Initial discussion included a brief description of the proposal by Mr. Skowronski. He stated that the Planning Board had indicated that the proposal should be reviewed by the Conservation Commission. There was further discussion regarding ownership of subdivision parcels. Mr Skowronski mentioned that if the Conservation Commission voted to accept the Easement and become the Grantee, the non-conservation part of the subdivision would be divided among his home site and two others. He would retain the Grantor position for the easement until the other two homesite parcels were sold. Subsequently, a Homeowners Association would assume responsibility for compliance of the Conservation Easement, as recorded in the deed.

The discussion then turned to a decision of the Conservation of whether the town should accept the Conservation land and become the Grantee of the easement. It was mentioned that the applicant could not identify a third-party steward to accept the easement because too many changes for the sub-division would be required in approving the easement and some were not accepting easements any longer. After deliberation, Andy Vorkink *made a motion seconded by Lisa Wilson that the Town accept the Conservation Easement with the condition that the final revisions of the draft Easement language be agreeable to both parties.* In following discussion, it was mentioned that an Executory interest in the easement was not practicable because the grantee could not have such an interest of itself.

Thereafter, the motion was passed unanimously.

Following the motion, further discussion centered around several provisions in the draft easement which some commission members believed needed to be amended to be acceptable. After continuing deliberation, it was decided that a listing of provisions believed to require amendment, with accompanying comment or suggested amendment wording, be made and given to Mr Skowonski for his consideration.

Subsequently, a motion was made by Lisa Wilson, seconded by Kathy Grant, for Commission members to individually prepare a listing of draft amendments by and delivered them to Andy Vorkink to consolidate them, then forward them to Mr Skowronski and to other Commission members. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting then turned to the matter of Stewardship fees for the initial easement baseline documentation and for annual conservation land monitoring expenses. The Chair mentioned that in arriving at a reasonable fee amount, he consulted with the Southeast Land Trust and the fee of \$10,000 was recommended. Mr. Skowronski had no objection to the amount. Discussion followed concerning monitoring costs and requirements and for potentially contracting with third party land trusts to conduct baseline documentation and monitoring. A *motion was then made by Lisa Wilson, seconded by Philip Thayer, to approve the stewardship fee requirement of \$10,000 for the Conservation portion of the subdivision.*

There being no further business, a motion was made by Lisa Wilson, seconded by Kathy Grant to adjourn the meting. The meeting was adjourned at 6:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Chris Ganotis, Chair Recording Secretary

"These minutes are prepared by the Commission Chair, Chris Ganotis within five (5) days as required by NH RSA 2,11. They will not be finalized until approved by majority vote by the Conservation Commission".